Cleaning, Putting Up Blinds, and Waiting on the Plumber

Happy President’s Day,

This was a long weekend for me as I took Friday off to get the house inspected and we are good to go when the electrical inspector blesses the house, we can move in.

There are still things that need to be done as not all of the plumbing is finished and hooked up.  We had some issues with a stopped up sewer line.  From my understanding it was a plugged line that could be attributed to how our original line was hooked into the main sewer line 20 years ago when we had the line installed.  We live on 7 acres but it is in the City and has City utilities.  That was just another thing that I can blame on breaking that mirror.  Ugh.  Fixed now though, I hope (the sewer block).  As for the mirror, I bought a new one, that should count for something.  I can’t afford 7 years.  Fixing it should account for 6 years and 11 months, so I am good 🙂  Gotta think positive.

We have to get the water heater strapped down with a drain pan under it and a pressure valve plumbed to the outside.  One more toilet installed.  Two claw-foot tubs installed; the hydro tub with heater installed; two of the vanities to finish and the shower heads installed.  Pretty soon.

Another hurdle is, the cable company says they have to trench in a line to the house.  I guess what we buried is not big enough.  Ka-ching, and that is going to cost us $580!!  As much as Lynn wants to move he won’t move without TV and Internet.  That won’t get put in until March 6th, unless they have an opening before that.

I worked on the house for 3 days, and just took a little break to head to Famous Dave’s for BBQ on Valentines Day.  Ate way too much, but it was delish.

Now for some photos:

 

Happy Valentines Day, wasn't that sweet, look what the flooring guy left
Happy Valentines Day, wasn’t that sweet, look what the flooring guy left
Living Room carpet down
Living Room carpet down
Another shot with the lights on
Another shot with the lights on
Our little bar sink
Our little bar sink
An added touch of flashing to our upstairs deck
An added touch of flashing to our upstairs deck
Installed blindes in the bath, just waiting on the tub installation
Installed blindes in the bath, just waiting on the tub installation
I though putting in the blinds would be easier before the tub was installed,  That 3 windows, only 41 more to go.
I though putting in the blinds would be easier before the tub was installed, That 3 windows, only 41 more to go.
Moved a few boxes and the dining china cabinets
Moved a few boxes and the dining china cabinets
New retro furniture.  Just kidding, I hope!
New retro furniture. Just kidding, I hope!

This has been a 20 year journey, but it is almost done.  The work around here will be on-going as there is always room for improvement, at least now I will be able to take my time and enjoy the process.  Lynn will finally be able to relax and enjoy the new old house.  It is a culmination of a lot of hard work from both of us though-out the years.

Dreams are possible, you just have to be willing to work hard and keep the vision of what you want to accomplish.  You make your own dreams come true.

I am not done yet, now I have all the undone things that will probably take me another year or two to accomplish.  In between all that, I am looking at seed catalogs, planning a garden and maybe get a chicken or two.

Stay tuned, as I am hoping to turn this blog into a book.  I’ll let you know how that process goes.  I also have a couple of other books in the works.  Gotta keep busy.

Annie, the little busy bee

Busy, Busy, Busy Bee

6 thoughts on “Cleaning, Putting Up Blinds, and Waiting on the Plumber

  1. Pingback: Cleaning, Putting Up Blinds, and Waiting on the Plumber | 15yearsandcountingdream

    1. Oh, there will be plenty of stuff to do. Eat your Wheaties and a can-do attitude. I hope the weather cooperates. We have fences, moving furniture, and mending the stable, and on and on and on. You sure you want to do this? You can have your choice of rooms upstairs.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.